SKYSCRAPER
120 x 600

KIDS' GEAR REVIEWS

We get it. Good things cost good money. But I have never heard anyone say, "I really shouldn't have bought that North Face jacket." Not long ago, kids' mountain bikes and accessories were not very good. Youth mountain bikes from big manufacturers were heavy and poor performing. My favorite bike shop mechanic called this the "curse of the kid bike." Well, the curse has been broken, manufacturers are investing in designing good gear for young riders. Here is some of what we've been able to get our hands on.

5 Mountain Biking Shorts For Kids

Written by Traci | November 1, 2017 SHARETWEET

We've tried a few different brands of mountain biking shorts for our kids over the years. These shorts from popular brands are built for fit, comfort and function.

readmore

Leatt DBX 5.5 Junior Neck Brace Review

Written by Traci | October 29, 2017 SHARETWEET

The Leatt DBX 5.5 Junior neck brace can be partnered with a one piece full-face helmet to provide your aggressive grom an additional level of protection.

readmore

Scott Scale RC JR 24 Mountain Bike Review

Written by Brett | October 25, 2017 SHARETWEET

The Scott Scale RC JR 24 is a race ready cross country mountain bike designed specifically for kids. Find out if this frame and build is a good fit for your young rider.

readmore

October Audiobook Selections for Family Mountain Biking Road Trips

Written by Brett | October 6, 2017 SHARETWEET

We've chosen three seasonal favorites for October's audiobooks. Bring these along so your young mountain bikers look forward to the next long drive.

readmore

Five Ten Freerider Mountain Bike Shoes for Kids – Review

Written by Traci | September 20, 2017 SHARETWEET

These mountain biking shoes for kids are a wonderful accessory if your kids like to ride with flat pedals and get rowdy.

readmore

Here Are Three Audiobooks You May Enjoy On Your Next Mountain Biking Trip With Kids

Written by Brett | September 6, 2017 SHARETWEET

A story about audiobooks on a mountain biking with kids website? Abso-freakin’-lutely! Audiobooks are the reason why our mountain biking kids don’t mind long trips in the car.

readmore

Trek Fuel Ex Jr. Review

Written by Brett | August 19, 2017 SHARETWEET

Our youngest has been on this ride for a few months. Find out if the full-suspension Trek Fuel Ex Jr. irons out the bumps while keeping the weight low enough to do the job as an all-mountain/enduro kid's bike.

readmore

SixSixOne Rage Youth Knee Pad Review

Written by Traci | July 22, 2017 SHARETWEET

Knee pads are mandatory for some of our mountain bike rides. Here's how the current knee pads for our 10 year old measure up after a few weeks of heavy use.

readmore

Bell Super 2r Helmet Review

Written by Brett | May 7, 2017 SHARETWEET

Has your kid crashed and hit his/her face on a cross-country mountain bike ride? Read our review or the Bell Super 2r to see what we think about these after a season of riding.

readmore

Dakine Shuttle 6L Hydration Pack

Written by Brett | June 5, 2016 SHARETWEET

We picked up this handy accessory during one of our north-of-the-border trips. See how we like it after a season of use.

readmore